Church of England

The Book of Common Prayer defines a sacrament as an outward and visible sign of an inward and invisible grace.

In the Anglican tradition, Baptism and Holy Communion are regarded as sacraments which were ordained by Jesus.

Confirmation, which was originally part of the Baptism rite, is a sacramental act in which a person affirms their desire to continue in their Christian walk of faith and this is confirmed by the presiding Bishop through the laying on of hands and invocation of the Holy Spirit.


Some parts of the Church will recognise 4 other Sacraments:

   Reconciliation (or Confession)






   Ordination (or Holy Orders)



   Anointing of the sick